Mask

cut out leather mask

I found an awesome blog by Creativerus! I was completely inspired by her leather work. I really wanted to make a mask, because her work was so stunning. I have a lot of projects on the go at the moment, 6 that I want to finish in the next 2 weeks before going to my first LARP event. I couldn’t justify making a mask at the moment. Then on Facebook it was  posted that someone had a masquerade event at Empire. This was just the excuse I need to bump the mask up my to do list!

 

I loved the cut out mask and I thought I could reproduce it quite easy and set about making it. My cuts are not as good as I would have liked as the scalpel blade I was using for the beginning was a bit dull. I tried to introduce bevel edges to the design this was a mistake. Overall I’m pleased with the result and want to move onto designing my own mask rather than just reproducing other peoples design.  Also I think I could take some really nice pictures of it when I get my SLR up and running again.

wpid-img_20140408_212938.jpg

wpid-20140408_205845.jpg

wpid-20140405_211413.jpg

 

Tags: , , ,

About backtobusk

I have spent a few years of being lost in flow of life but after a night of Intoxication spent staring at the Burlesque tent at a festival, Ive realised I really used to like to do sewing and making corsets. This is going to be an attempt to document my re interation into the world of a being a seamstress.

Leave a Reply

