Doodle

Katie BrownlessOnly a couple of days until I can start work on my corset until then im trying to improve skills related to corsets that don’t evolve sewing machines……

An area I can improve in  is Fashion illustration. I never been a natural artist but when I don’t practice im so bad it is comedic.  At the moment I dream that my design drawing looking like 1950’s pin up girls, the kind you see in traditional tattoo flash, think Sailor Jerry or  Vince Ray

I have quite an ongoing obsession with Dolls, so im pulled towards  trying to use the Asian Ball Jointed aesthetic, I love the over accentuated head and eyes. In an ideal world that would make my illustrations looking a bit  like Morganic Heart and Pinky Toast.

I had a lot of fun with acrylic paint but I need to get a nice drawing pen for the outlines, I think the painted lines look a little clunky and childish rather than stylised. I left one of my painting unlined until I get myself a good quality pen

At some point im going to have explore Freud’s concept of the uncanny, I don’t think I can really play with this aethstetic until I have re explored frued theory. Looks like I will be reading the sandman and maybe a bit of Jentsch on the way to London.

At the moment im just trying to find my style so I can communicate the design’s in my head.

The Gallery below shows the three phases; Sketched, painted and Lined .

Tags: , , , ,

About backtobusk

I have spent a few years of being lost in flow of life but after a night of Intoxication spent staring at the Burlesque tent at a festival, Ive realised I really used to like to do sewing and making corsets. This is going to be an attempt to document my re interation into the world of a being a seamstress.

Leave a Reply

