Corset Cameo

wpid-20140107_153326.jpgI used an image of vintage tattoo flash for my screen prints a while ago, I started reusing it for inspiration.

A few weeks ago I used it to do some appliqué on my circle skirt. Circle skirts are traditionally appliqué with poodle hence why there often called poodle skirts. I didn’t really fancy sewing a poodle onto my skirt, so I appliqué the design I used for the screen printing, Unfortunately I didn’t photograph it until after I had worn it out on my birthday, it defiantly lost  some of its definition in the wash.

wpid-20131228_110715.jpg

Since I been doing leather work I have imagined using this image for a cameo corset. I love the style of Louise Black cameo corsets but I want a front Busk. So I think this will mean using a front panel with two busk which is a style of corset I have seen used a lot by harlots and angels. I will have to adapt an existing pattern it’s just a case of deciding which one now.

I’m really pleased with this Leather tooling, even though it very clear that I have more experience carving flower than faces! Hopefully I will be able to use it on the finished corset. Just waiting on all of my dyes to turn up so I can start finishing it properly.

wpid-20140105_121208.jpg

early carving

early carving

About backtobusk

I have spent a few years of being lost in flow of life but after a night of Intoxication spent staring at the Burlesque tent at a festival, Ive realised I really used to like to do sewing and making corsets. This is going to be an attempt to document my re interation into the world of a being a seamstress.

5 responses to “Corset Cameo”

  1. Chez Goldberg says :

    Beautiful, but I can’t see the first pic.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

